C4 Diagramming Cheat Sheet

C4 stands for context, containers, components, and code


The C4 model considers the static structures of a software system in terms of containers, components and code. And people use the software systems that we build.

Core Diagrams

The diagrams are hierarchical. Start with Level 1 and work your way through Level 3. Only create Level 4 if you really need to as it gets out of sync really quickly.

  • Level 1: System Context diagram
  • Level 2: Container diagram
  • Level 3: Component diagram
  • Level 4: Code

Supplementary diagrams

  • System Landscape diagram
  • Dynamic diagram
  • Deployment diagram



Software architecture diagram review checklist

Short Version


Full Version


Online Modeling Tool


The Man Behind It All

Simon Brown

Published on October 30, 2018.

Tagged: c4   diagramming